Men’s Club & Club One East

As part of temple life at Emanu-El for more than 100 years, the Men’s Club encourages attendance at all temple religious events. It promotes interest in social, humanitarian, educational and civic affairs. It engages in cultural and religious discussions and activities, and it participates in such activities as will support good citizenship and interfaith dialogue. Note: Men’s Club membership is open to Temple Members only.

Upcoming Events


Each month, the Men’s Club holds brunch events featuring expert speakers. From artificial intelligence to movie screenings; brunches cover a range of topics and foster a community which never stops learning and growing.

Book Groups:

All temple members are invited to join in our monthly book discussion group. Sessions meet at 10:00 AM on the first Thursday of each month. Check our calendar for more information about chosen books, meeting dates, and guests.

sanctuary, mosaic

Club One East

Club One East (formerly Club 65) is a monthly social group and educational program that gives members of Congregation Emanu-El opportunities to interact while we educate and enlighten ourselves.

The club hosts informal sessions where we invite members of Emanu-El’s clergy and staff as well as other guests to come and speak to us. Whatever the event, expect a lively discussion.

Club One East meets at 11:00 AM on the second Tuesday of each month. Attendance is free of charge.

Ushers Committee

Ushers Committee

Temple Emanu-El’s ushers welcome congregants and guests to our historic sanctuary during Shabbat and holiday worship services. Whether providing a prayerbook or helping to find a seat, ushers convey the warmth and majesty of Emanu-El.

Sunset Service Readers Panel

The Sunset Service began in 1945 when the Men’s Club committed themselves to lead worship throughout the week. While under the auspices of the Men’s Club, participation is open to all congregational members and families who have completed a Bar or Bat Mitzvah.

Officers & Directors

Click below to see those who have worked hard to help the modern-day Men’s Club of Temple Emanu-El live up to its storied past. New officers are chosen each year at the Annual Meeting.

Officers Listing - 2022 (click to open)

Andrew H. Chait *
Carl M. Bornstein
Alan Rosenthal
Benjamin Weintraub
Dewey S. Wigod
Alan Weinman
James Kantor
Edward A. Froelich
Vice President
Vice President
Vice President
Vice President
Secretary Emeritus
James G. Asher
Ross Brady *
Martin A. Danoff *
Dennis Ehrich
Steven Eisenpreis
Mark H. Heutlinger
Thomas G. Kahn
Bernard R. King *
Ira E. Menkes
Robert N. Waxman
Dr. David J. Wolf
Joel D. Boosin*

* Past President

Samuel Sacks Achievement Award

Each year since 1977, the Men’s Club board of directors has established a committee to recommend deserving individuals to receive the Samuel Sacks Achievement Award.

Past Winners (click to open)

Samuel Sacks, a dedicated and devoted member of the congregation and of the Men’s Club, established a fund 40 years ago whereby the temple receives a yearly contribution. Mr. Sacks also wished to recognize members of the congregation for their service and support of the temple.

Below is a list of past winners:

1977 Maxwell M. Rabb 1999 The Gould Family
1978 Cantor Arthur Wolfson 2000 Marcia Waxman
1979 Alvin E. Coleman
Alfred Bachrach
2001 Charles S. Salomon
1980 Rabbi Ronald B. Sobel 2002 David E. Marrus
1981 Mervin H. Riseman 2003 Francine Urist
Stuart Goldsmith
1982 Henry Fruhauf 2004 Carl M. Bornstein
1983 Edwin A. Malloy 2005 Richard R. Valcourt
1984 Emmy Lou Pepper
Morton Pepper
2006 Frances A. Hess
1985 Frank Greenwall 2007 Jocelyn F. Chait
Andrew H. Chait
1986 Dr. Lester J. Waldman 2008 Mark H. Heutlinger
1987 Bernard Breslin 2009 Miriam K. Reines
1988 Jeanne S. Theodore 2010 Philippe D. Radley
1989 Joanne E. Sobel
Warren W. Zorek
2011 Martin A. and Hon. Susan S. Danoff
1990 Hon. Robert M. Morgenthau 2012 Eve Haberman
1991 Herbert C. Bernard 2013 The Tikkun Olam Committee
1992 Eugene H. Kummel
Reva G. Kirschberg
2014 Ross Brady
Hadassa Mushinsky
1993 Rabbi David M. Posner 2015 Rona Weinstein
Norden Hahn
1994 Oscar S. Straus II 2016 Ramlal (“Joe”) Bissram
1995 Dr. Mark W. Weisstuch 2017 Marlene Yokel
Mark Willner
1996 Maxwell J. Moss 2018 Wendl Kornfeld
Michelle Paretti Goldstein
1997 Marvin L. J. Schrank 2019 John Sorkin
1998 Phyllis Hahn
Cantor Howard Nevison