temple emanu-el
top border
Samuel Sacks Achievement Award

Samuel Sacks, a dedicated and devoted member of the congregation and of the Men’s Club, established a fund 36 years ago whereby the Temple receives a yearly contribution. Mr. Sacks also wished to recognize members of the congregation for their service and support of the Temple.

Each year since 1977, the Men’s Club board of directors has established a committee to recommend deserving individuals to receive the Samuel Sacks Achievement Award. There have been 45 recipients honored for their dedication, devotion and service to Congregation Emanu-El:

1977 Maxwell M. Rabb 1996 Maxwell J. Moss
1978 Cantor Arthur Wolfson 1997 Marvin L. J. Schrank
1979 Alvin E. Coleman
Alfred Bachrach
1998 Phyllis Hahn
Cantor Howard Nevison
1980 Rabbi Ronald B. Sobel 1999 The Gould Family
1981 Mervin H. Riseman 2000 Marcia Waxman
1982 Henry Fruhauf 2001 Charles S. Salomon
1983 Edwin A. Malloy 2002 David E. Marrus
1984 Emmy Lou Pepper
Morton Pepper
2003 Francine Urist
Stuart Goldsmith
1985 Frank Greenwall 2004 Carl M. Bornstein
1986 Dr. Lester J. Waldman 2005 Richard R. Valcourt
1987 Bernard Breslin 2006 Frances A. Hess
1988 Jeanne S. Theodore 2007 Jocelyn F. Chait
Andrew H. Chait
1989 Joanne E. Sobel
Warren W. Zorek
2008 Mark H. Heutlinger
1990 Hon. Robert M. Morgenthau 2009 Miriam K. Reines
1991 Herbert C. Bernard 2010 Philippe D. Radley
1992 Eugene H. Kummel
Reva G. Kirschberg
2011 Martin A. and Hon. Susan S. Danoff
1993 Rabbi David M. Posner 2012 Eve Haberman
1994 Oscar S. Straus II 2013 The Tikkun Olam Committee
1995 Dr. Mark W. Weisstuch 2014 Ross Brady
Hadassa Mushinsky

Back to Men’s Club

photo of temple
One East 65th St., New York, New York 10065. Phone  212-744-1400
One East 65th Street, New York, NY 10065    (212) 744-1400 horizontal rule Member Log In | Calendar | Site Map | Contact Us | Text Size [+] [-]